Guide

How to get a nonfiction book published without an agent

You can get a nonfiction book traditionally published without an agent. You just cannot do it at most of the biggest houses. University presses, independent presses, specialist and regional publishers take proposals straight from authors, and self-publishing needs no one's yes. Here is who accepts direct submissions, how to find and check them, and what the deal usually looks like.

Who will and will not read you directly

The large New York houses mostly will not. Penguin Random House says that in most cases "an agent is still required and advisable" (PRH), and Jane Friedman estimates that probably 80% of the books New York houses acquire come through agents (Friedman). If a Big Five deal is the goal, the agent route is the way in, and finding a literary agent explains where to look.

Plenty of nonfiction is better suited to publishers that do not need agents. Friedman lists the projects that often do not require one: scholarly works for university presses, books likely to be published by regional or independent presses, and niche titles with limited commercial appeal (Friedman). Three groups take direct submissions:

  • University presses. The Association of University Presses lists 170 member presses on its site (AUPresses, counted October 21, 2026). Some also publish trade books for general readers; the University of Texas Press, for example, describes a separate process for its trade projects (UT Press). The University of Chicago Press answers the question plainly: asked whether authors need an introduction, it says "No! We're happy to hear from you directly" (Chicago).
  • Independent and specialist presses. Many publish their guidelines and invite proposals by email. New Harbinger, which publishes psychology and health self-help, takes proposals by email and says most of its authors are therapists or other helping professionals (New Harbinger). Berrett-Koehler, which publishes books on leadership, work and organizations, posts a nine-part proposal form and a submissions address (Berrett-Koehler).
  • Regional publishers. Friedman names regional presses among the publishers that often do not need an agent. A book tied to a place, such as its history or its outdoors, is the natural fit.

The names above are examples of how publishers state their policies, not recommendations. Policies change, so read each one's current page.

How to find publishers that accept your book

  1. Start with your comparable titles. Look at the copyright page and spine of recent books like yours. Note every publisher that is not a Big Five imprint. These are presses that already sell to your readers.
  2. Search the directories. The AUPresses member list links to every member press. Poets & Writers keeps a free Small Presses database with submission guidelines and an open reading periods page, though it leans toward literary work.
  3. Read each publisher's submissions page. Look for "submissions," "proposals," "for authors" or "prospective authors." Check whether it publishes your kind of book now, not ten years ago, by browsing its recent catalog.
  4. Find the right editor. University presses list acquiring editors by subject. Chicago asks you to write to the editor closest to your subject and not to write to more than one editor at the press.

The small press and university press guide goes deeper on what these publishers are and how they differ.

How to submit

Without an agent, your proposal does the agent's job. Most presses want a proposal plus sample material, and the details differ:

Publisher (example)What it asks forStated response time
University of Chicago PressProposal, usually 5 to 15 single-spaced pages; a sample chapter if available; email to one acquiring editorNot stated
University of Texas PressCover letter, 5 to 10 page prospectus, annotated table of contents, two sample chapters, CVReceipt in 3 to 5 business days; decision may take 4 to 6 weeks
New HarbingerProspectus, author background, table of contents, two sample chaptersTypically two to three months
Berrett-KoehlerNine sections from elevator pitch to marketing reach; Word or PDF onlyNot stated

From each publisher's own author page: Chicago, UT Press, New Harbinger, Berrett-Koehler. Checked October 21, 2026.

Three rules hold almost everywhere:

  • Follow the guidelines exactly. File type, length and contents are not suggestions.
  • Say if you are submitting elsewhere. Chicago and UT Press both accept simultaneous submissions but ask you to say so. UT Press asks for exclusivity only once you and the editor agree to peer review.
  • Expect peer review at university presses. If an editor is interested, the proposal and sample chapters, or later the manuscript, go to outside readers. This adds time.

How to build the proposal itself is in how to write a nonfiction book proposal.

What the deal looks like

A traditional deal from a smaller publisher works the same way as a big one, on a smaller scale. The publisher pays for editing, design, printing and distribution and pays you royalties. Friedman's publishing paths chart says smaller presses pay small advances and usually invest in a print run, and university presses pay minimal advances and sell mainly to libraries and universities.

On royalties, Friedman writes that an average contract might pay anywhere from 4 to 25 percent depending on format and sales, and that a deal with no advance should pay more, usually 20 to 50 percent of print sales (Friedman, updated August 9, 2026). The Authors Guild notes that small, medium and academic presses often pay royalties on net receipts rather than list price (Authors Guild), which pays much less at the same percentage. Advances and royalties explained shows the difference in dollars.

The catch of going without an agent is that no one negotiates for you. Read the contract with the rights and contract terms guide open, and consider a publishing lawyer. Friedman recommends one for small press contracts, and Authors Guild members can use the Guild's contract review.

How to check a publisher before you sign

Being accepted feels like the finish line. It is the moment to slow down. Friedman's test for any publisher calling itself traditional: "Traditional publishers, regardless of size, pay the author." If a press makes you pay upfront for editing, design or production, or makes you buy copies, she says it is a hybrid publisher or a publishing service, not a traditional publisher. Check:

  • Money direction. Any fee, package or required purchase changes the deal. See the warning signs guide.
  • Recent books. Covers, descriptions and editing quality on its last few titles. Friedman suggests reading the samples on Amazon.
  • Sales reach. Whether it has a distributor that pitches books to stores, or only lists them online.
  • Track record. Friedman suggests searching the publisher's name with the word "scam." Look it up in Writer Beware's publisher complaints archive. Ask a recent author how it went.

Self-publishing: the route with no gatekeeper

Many authors searching for publishers without agents are really asking how to get a book out without anyone's permission. That is self-publishing. You are the publisher: you hire editing and design, buy ISBNs if you want your own imprint, and publish through platforms such as Amazon KDP and IngramSpark, which are free to start. You keep control and the larger share of each sale, and you carry every cost and every marketing job.

Self-publishing fits best when you have a way to reach readers yourself, when the book serves a business or speaking goal more than bookstore presence, or when a publisher's timeline does not fit yours. KDP vs IngramSpark vs Draft2Digital compares the platforms, and the path comparison sets it against every other route.

If this is your first book

Being a first-time author is not, by itself, the obstacle. What a publisher wants to see is the same with or without an agent:

  • A clear fit with their list. A book that sits beside the ones they already sell.
  • A reason you are the author. Expertise, access or a story only you can tell.
  • Readers you can reach. Friedman notes that a smaller publisher may be fine selling a few thousand copies where a big house may want up to 20,000 in the first year. A modest platform can be enough for the right press.
  • Proof you can write it. Strong sample chapters, or a finished manuscript for memoir.

Unsure whether to pitch presses, find an agent or publish yourself? The chooser asks ten questions and ranks six paths, with the reasons drawn from your answers.

Common questions

Can you get a book published without an agent?

Yes, but usually not by the largest houses. Penguin Random House says that in most cases an agent is still required. University presses, many independent and specialist presses, and regional publishers accept proposals directly from authors, and self-publishing needs no one's approval.

Which publishers accept unagented nonfiction submissions?

Many university presses do: the University of Chicago Press, for example, says you do not need an introduction and it is happy to hear from authors directly. Many independent presses also post their own proposal guidelines, such as New Harbinger for psychology self-help and Berrett-Koehler for books on leadership and work. Always read each publisher's current guidelines.

How do I get a book published for the first time?

Decide the route first. For traditional publishing, write a proposal (or finish the manuscript for memoir), then query agents or submit directly to presses that accept it. For self-publishing, you hire editing and design and publish through platforms such as KDP and IngramSpark. Either way, the audience you can reach matters more than whether it is your first book.

Should I pay a publisher to publish my book?

Not if it calls itself a traditional publisher. Jane Friedman says traditional publishers of any size pay the author, and that a press charging you upfront for editing, design or copies is a hybrid or a publishing service. Paid paths can be legitimate, but they are a different deal and should be judged as one.

Is it better to self-publish or go with a small press?

It depends on what the press adds. Friedman points out that any author can get the same Ingram and Amazon print-on-demand distribution a small press uses, so a press is worth its share of your royalties only if it improves the book, sells it into stores or markets it to readers.

Sources: Penguin Random House, How can I get published?; Jane Friedman, Start Here: How to Get Your Book Published, Start Here: How to Write a Book Proposal (updated February 23, 2026), How to Evaluate Small Publishers (updated August 9, 2026) and The Key Book Publishing Paths; AUPresses member list; author pages of the University of Chicago Press, University of Texas Press, New Harbinger and Berrett-Koehler; Authors Guild Model Trade Book Contract, section 5; Poets & Writers; Writer Beware. Checked October 21, 2026, except the PRH and Start Here pages and the paths chart, checked October 20, 2026. Published by Scribe Media.